The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) implements U.S. Government sanctions against Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, and Syria pursuant to the Export Administration Regulations (EAR), either unilaterally or to implement United Nations Security Council Resolutions.

The license requirements, license exceptions, and licensing policy vary depending upon the particular sanctioned destination. The corresponding country pages are intended to assist exporters and reexports with determining the export and reexport requirements pursuant to the EAR. However, the webpages are not comprehensive and do not serve as replacements for the EAR.

Exporters and reexporters should be aware that other U.S. Government agencies administer regulations that could also impact their export or reexport transactions. For example, the Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) also implements certain sanctions against Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, and Syria. Exporters and reexporters are responsible for complying with all applicable regulatory requirements.

© BIS 2016